Three non-fiction books you should read

A couple months ago I posted a list of five fiction books you should read, so I thought I’d do something similar for my favorite non-fiction books. Sometimes I find non-fiction harder to get sucked into, but these three books have changed the way I think, write, and see the world. Plus, they all manage to be extremely engaging. If you’re looking for a great read that just might challenge the way you see things, give one of these a try. I tried to include something for everyone on the list, but I think you could probably pick up any of these books and learn something regardless of who you are. So, here we go again. I promise this won’t be as long as my previous list of recommendations…

  1. Let Justice Roll Down by John Perkins (1976): In light of all that is happening in this country right now, this book could not be more relevant. John Perkins, founder of Voice of Calvary Ministries in Jackson, MS, (and several other wonderful organizations) tells his story of growing up in Jackson as an African-American man during a time of extreme racial unrest. His own brother was one of the many who lost their lives during that time. Although the book provides a valuable look into the past, it also is extremely applicable to today as there seems to have been a rise in racial violence over the last couple years. The book tells a story filled with a great deal of pain, but Perkins is not without hope. Voice of Calvary has done monumental work in Jackson to ease the pain and tension through the Gospel. I’ve had the privilege of seeing their work first hand and it has brought me to tears. Please go read this book. It could not be any more relevant for today.
  2. When I was a Child I Read Books by Marilynne Robinson (2012): I don’t think I can get far in a list of recommendations without mentioning Marilynne. Though I’m still in the midst of this book, I can’t help but feel it becoming one of my favorites. The essays span from faith, to writing, to politics, to everyday life in America. I came to love Robinson’s writing through her novels, but her prose sings just as much in essays. The book has an honest approach to problems in the world, but it is also profoundly hopeful. If you’re looking for a good non-fiction book that you can really dig into and take your time with, this is a great option. Since it’s divided into essays, you can easily read one in a sitting and then take a break without losing the context of the book. I’ve tried to limit myself to one essay per sitting. Otherwise, I would probably read the whole thing at once. It’s an exercise in self-control for sure.
  3. Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott (1994): I first read this book as a freshman in high school, but I don’t think I really appreciated it until I read it again this past week. The book discusses the process of writing from the perspective of both an author and a teacher of creative writing. I can’t tell you how many articles I’ve read that have praised the glory and ecstasy of writing and totally ignored every struggle I’ve actually faced while writing. Anne Lamott’s book, on the other hand, is frank, irreverent, joyful, helpful, and lovely. Her chapters on rough drafts and publication actually made me laugh out loud. If you’re a writer who needs some encouragement or you’re just feeling a little alone in your struggles, give this book a read.
Leave a Reply

